Family

My favorite childhood memory

Growing up in my house was a little crazy. I am the oldest of 4; all girls.

I was born in Luthern Medical Center in Brooklyn, NY. I grew up on 52nd St located in the Sunset Park area.

I was born in December and by November of the following year my sister Stephanie was born. Making me 11 months and 1 day older then her. After Steph, Cynthia was born about two years later. My mother took a break then had my youngest sister Tatiana, 6 years later.

Growing up in our house was an experience in itself. When Tatiana was born Steph, Cyn and I were already enrolled in school. Since I can remember my mother installed in us to be independent and capable to conquer our goals and dreams.

My mother would remind us that we can do what we determine ourselves to do since she came from a failed marriage that left her a divorced single mother of three with the youngest being 6 months.

When my mother meet my step-father that I call Dad, that experience changed us forever. This gentleman accepted my mother with three girls that were not his. He showed us love when at times we would act up. He would take care of our mother and support her whenever we needed anything. Together my parents would make sure we had our school supplies, clothing and shoes ready in time before school started.

Together as a family we would experience going to theme parks together with family friends that had kids around our age. Together as a family we traveled to Guatemala to meet my fathers family that would meet us for the first time after the birth of Tatiana.

Together as a family we would go to church rain, snow or shine. Together as a family we experienced the adventures this world brought us. Together as a family we relocated from Brooklyn to Staten Island.

From left to right: my father, Steph, Tatiana, me, Cyn and my mom

My favorite childhood memory was being able to have the experience of doing things together as a family. This taught us, my sisters and I that family is everything.

I remember one time when we all moved down to Texas we decided to travel to New Jersey to visit our aunt, my mothers sister. We rented a 15 passenger van loaded up and went on a road-trip during our Thanksgiving break. The experience was wonderful. We had my parents (2), my husband and I(2), my son JohnPaul, Steph and her husband (2), her daughter Gianna, Cyn, and Tatiana. To top it off Steph and I were pregnant with our 2 child as well. We have fun playing music, games, singing and of course stopping at Dunkin’ Donuts…my fathers favorite.

These memories have made me the wife and mother I am today to Pablo, JohnPaul and Gabi. It showed me to put them first.

What are is your favorite childhood memory? Is it a restaurant? Is it spending time with the cousins? Is it youth camp? Is it the birth of a younger sibling?

 

 

Leave a comment